Come back to research!

 

Research Supplements to Promote Re-Entry into Biomedical and Behavioral Research Careers (called Re-Entry Supplements) are administrative supplements given to existing NIH research grants to support full- or part-time research by women or men returning to the scientific workforce.

NIH Institutes and Centers (IC) support individuals with high potential to re-enter an active research career after an interruption for family responsibilities or other qualifying circumstances. The purpose of these supplements is to encourage such individuals to re-enter research careers within the missions of all the program areas of NIH ICs (see the Table of IC-Specific Information, Requirements, and Staff Contacts for more details).

The program is designed to bring a scientist's existing research skills and knowledge up-to-date so that by the end of the supplement period, the scientist will be in a position to apply for a career development (K) award, a research award (R), or some other form of research support. For information on eligibility and eligibility circumstances see Section III. Eligibility Information under “3. Additional Information on Eligibility.

Special Note: Because NIH ICs may have varying degrees of flexibility in interpreting and implementing the Re-entry program, potential applicants should consult with the contact at the NIH awarding component at the earliest possible stage to discuss his or her unique situation (see Table of IC-Specific Information, Requirements, and Staff Contacts).

Award criteria include:

  • Full participation in the research project
  • An opportunity to update and enhance research skills
  • A carefully-planned mentoring program developed by the mentor and the awardee

ORWH, participating NIH ICs, and the Office of Dietary Supplements support this unique research supplement program to promote re-entry into biomedical and behavioral research careers. Candidates who held a postdoctoral or faculty position at the time they left active research are eligible to apply. View the program announcement (PA-18-592) for more information or visit the web pages of participating ICs:

Institute/Center with Link to Website

 

POC

 

Email

ORWH

Lynn Morin

lynn.morin@nih.gov

NIH Common Fund

Ravi Basavappa

ravikumar.basavappa@nih.gov

NCI

Alison Lin

linaj@mail.nih.gov

NEI

Houmam Araj

arajh@mail.nih.gov

NHLBI

Helen H. Cox

Helen.Cox@nih.gov

NHGRI

Tina Gatlin

gatlincl@mail.nih.gov

NIA

Shahrooz Vahedi

Shahrooz.vahedi@nih.gov

NIAAA

Deidra Roach

droach@mail.nih.gov

NIAID

Raushanah Newman

newmanrau@niaid.nih.gov

NIAMS

Justine F. Buschman

buschmanj@mail.nih.gov

NIBIB

Zeynep Erim

erimz@mail.nih.gov

NICHD

 

NICHD_DivReSuppCoord@nih.gov

NIDCD

Alberto L. Rivera-Rentas

riverara@nidcd.nih.gov

NIDCR

Lynn Mertens King

lynn.king@nih.gov

NIDDK

Robert C. Rivers

riversrc@mail.nih.gov

NIDA

Cora Lee Wetherington

cwetheri@nida.nih.gov

NIEHS

Jonathan Hollander

cwetheri@nida.nih.gov

NIGMS

Desirée L. Salazar

desiree.salazar@nih.gov

NIMH

Ishmael Amarreh

ish.amarreh@nih.gov

NIMHD

DeLoris L-James Hunter

hunterd2@mail.nih.gov

NINDS

Michelle D. Jones-London

jonesmiche@ninds.nih.gov

NINR

Rebekah S. Rasooly

rr185i@nih.gov

NLM

Hua-Chuan Sim

simh@mail.nih.gov

Fogarty

Laura K. Povlich

laura.povlich@nih.gov

NCCIH

Lanay Mudd

lanay.mudd@nih.gov

NCATS

Xinzhi Zhang

xinzhi.zhang@nih.gov

ORIP

Bruce Fuchs

fuchsb@od.nih.gov


For more information about the Re-Entry into Biomedical Research Careers Program, contact the ORWH office: 301-402-1770.