Come back to research!

 

Research Supplements to Promote Reentry and Reintegration into Health-Related Research Careers (NOT-OD-21-134) are administrative supplements given to existing NIH research grants to support full- or part-time research by women or men returning to the scientific workforce. The program is designed to bring a scientist's existing research skills and knowledge up-to-date so that by the end of the supplement period, the scientist will be prepared to apply for a fellowship (F), career development (K) award, a research award (R), or other types of independent research support.

NIH Institutes and Centers (IC) support individuals with high potential to reenter an active research career after an interruption of at least 6 months for family responsibilities or other qualifying circumstances. Most candidates for the reentry supplements will have a doctoral degree or equivalent; however, some awarding NIH Institutes and Centers may enable predoctoral students, including those enrolled in dual-degree programs, to apply.

The reintegration supplements will enable individuals to find supportive scientific environments after departure from an unsafe or discriminatory environment resulting from unlawful harassment. Postdoctoral and predoctoral students are eligible to apply for reintegration supplements to allow them to transition to a safe, supportive research environment and complete their graduate degrees.

Award criteria include:

  • The qualifications of the reentry/reintegration candidate, including career goals, prior research training, research potential, relevant research experience prior to the onset of hiatus, and length of career hiatus.
  • The plan for the proposed mentored research experience and its relationship to the parent grant.
  • Evidence from the PD(s)/PI(s) that the experience will enhance the candidate’s research potential, knowledge, and/or skills
  • Evidence from the PD(s)/PI(s) that the activities of the reentry/reintegration candidate will foster the candidate’s independent research career trajectory. Evidence of effort by the reentry candidate to initiate the reentry process, such as attending scientific meetings, or keeping current with journals.
  • Evidence that proposed research will achieve the stated objectives of the reentry/reintegration supplement.
  • Quality and appropriateness of the mentoring and career development plans, including the consistency of the proposed plan with the candidate's prior research experience and current and future research career goals.
  • Strength of the mentor’s commitment to the applicant's continued research career development and independence.
  • Strength of Institutional commitment to immediately address unlawful harassment and fully support and protect the candidate’s pursuit of continued research training in a safe and supportive environment

ORWH and participating ICs support this unique research supplement program to promote reentry and reintegration into health-related research careers. View the notice of special interest (NOT-OD-21-134) for more information:

Institute/Center with Link to Website

 

POC

 

Email

ORWH

Xenia Tigno

xenia.tigno@nih.gov

NIH Common Fund

Ravi Basavappa

Transformative_Awards@mail.nih.gov

NCI

Alison Lin

linaj@mail.nih.gov

NEI

Houmam Araj

arajh@mail.nih.gov

NHLBI

Paul Cotton

NHLBI_DivReEntry@nhlbi.gov

NHGRI

Bettie J Graham

bettie_graham@nih.gov

NIA

 

NIAtraining@nih.gov

NIAAA

Deidra Roach

droach@mail.nih.gov

NIAID

Raushanah Newman

newmanrau@niaid.nih.gov

NIAMS

Justine F. Buschman

buschmanj@mail.nih.gov

NIBIB

Greve, Joan 

joan.greve@nih.gov

NICHD

Charisee Lamar

lamarc@mail.nih.gov

NIDCD

Alberto L. Rivera-Rentas

riverara@nidcd.nih.gov

NIDCR

Lynn Mertens King

lynn.king@nih.gov

NIDDK

Robert C. Rivers

riversrc@mail.nih.gov

NIDA

Holly Moore

holly.moore@nih.gov

NIEHS

Annette Kirshner

kirshner@niehs.nih.gov

NIGMS

Desirée L. Salazar

desiree.salazar@nih.gov

NIMH

Tamara Lewis Johnson

tamara.lewisjohnson@nih.gov

NIMHD

Shelia McClure

McClurSh@mail.nih.gov

NINDS

Michelle D. Jones-London

jonesmiche@ninds.nih.gov

NINR

David Banks

Banksdh@mail.nih.gov

NLM

Hua-Chuan Sim

simh@mail.nih.gov

Fogarty

Laura K. Povlich

laura.povlich@nih.gov

NCCIH

Lanay Mudd

lanay.mudd@nih.gov

NCATS

Erica Rosemund

rosemonde@mail.nih.gov

ORIP

Bruce Fuchs

fuchsb@od.nih.gov


For more information about the Reentry and Reintegration into Health-Related Research Careers program, contact the ORWH office: 301-402-1770.