Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Standards

The Revisions to the Standards for the Classification of Federal Data on Race and Ethnicity (OMB Statistical Policy Directive No. 15) define minimum standards for collecting and presenting data on race and ethnicity for all Federal reporting.

The race and ethnic categories are presented as separate questions, and individuals can select multiple racial categories. The OMB standards have one category for ethnicity—Hispanic or Latino—and five minimum categories for data on race. Click here for a further breakdown of each ethnic  and racial group.

  • Ethnic Categories
    • Hispanic or Latino

  • Racial Categories
    • American Indian or Alaska Native
    • Asian
    • Black or African American
    • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
    • White