Skip Over Navigation Links

Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)

Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.

Director, Office of Research on Women’s Health and
Associate Director for Research on Women’s Health, NIH

Janine Austin Clayton, M.D. Janine Austin Clayton, M.D., was appointed ORWH Director and Associate Director for NIH Research on Women’s Health in 2012. She serves as co-chair of the NIH Working Group on Women in Biomedical Careers with NIH Director Dr. Francis Collins. Dr. Clayton was named ORWH Deputy Director in 2008.

Prior to joining ORWH, Dr. Clayton was the Deputy Clinical Director of the National Eye Institute (NEI). A board-certified ophthalmologist, Dr. Clayton’s research interests include autoimmune ocular diseases and the role of sex and gender in health and disease. Dr. Clayton has a particular interest in ocular surface disease and discovered a novel form of disease associated with premature ovarian insufficiency that affects young women. She is the author of more than 80 scientific publications, journal articles, and book chapters.

Dr. Clayton is a native Washingtonian and received her undergraduate degree with honors from the Johns Hopkins University and her medical degree from Howard University College of Medicine. She completed a residency in ophthalmology at the Medical College of Virginia and fellowship training in cornea and external disease at the Wilmer Eye Institute at Johns Hopkins Hospital and in uveitis and ocular immunology at the NEI. Dr. Clayton has been an attending physician and clinical investigator in cornea and uveitis at the NEI since 1996, conducting research on inflammatory diseases of the anterior segment and providing medical and surgical uveitis fellowship training. Her clinical research has ranged from randomized controlled trials of novel therapies for immune mediated ocular diseases to studies on the development of digital imaging techniques for the anterior segment.

Dr. Clayton has received several awards from NIH and has been recognized as a leader by her peers. She received the Senior Achievement Award from the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) in 2008 and was selected as a 2010 Silver Fellow by the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) in recognition for “Accomplishments, leadership, and contributions to the Association . . . to help further ARVO’s mission to facilitate the advancement of vision research and the prevention and cure of disorders of the visual system worldwide.”

Dr. Clayton has served on critical committees at the NIH Clinical Center and currently serves on the FDA Advisory Panel for Ophthalmic Devices; the executive committee of, a collaborative international online effort to raise awareness about preventable eye disease in women; the medical and scientific advisory board of Tissue Banks International; and the editorial boards of the journals The Ocular Surface and Oral Diseases.

This page last reviewed on December 17, 2013

Social Media Links