Skip Over Navigation Links

Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)

Susan E. Maier, Ph.D.

Deputy Director

Susan E. Maier, Ph.D., joined the ORWH in 2011. Currently, Dr. Maier fosters collaborations among NIH Institutes and Centers to co-fund research on women’s health and on sex and gender influences on health and disease through implementation of the goals, objectives, and cross-cutting themes of the NIH strategic plan for women’s health research, which is coordinated by the ORWH. She also oversees a portfolio of research on the multi-symptom, complex disorder Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (ME/CFS) and serves as the NIH ex officio member on the HHS Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Advisory Committee. She is the Executive Secretary for the NIH Advisory Committee on Research on Women’s Health and serves on the Editorial Board for the journal, Reproductive Toxicology.

In 2006, Dr. Maier began her work at the National Institutes of Health, first with National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (Office of the Director) and, subsequently, with the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (Office of Strategic Planning and Financial Management, Office of the Director) where she served in several roles—program oversight of a Fetal Alcohol Syndrome research portfolio; coordinating research portfolios reviews; writing and implementing various types of funding opportunities, such as grants, cooperative agreements, and R&D contracts; and bringing together diverse groups of experts for content review and development of recommendations for institute and center research portfolios.

Prior to her work at NIH, Dr. Maier performed pre-clinical research to determine the effects of developmental alcohol exposure on fetal and neonatal brain development, taught clinical neuroanatomy to first-year medical students and experimental design and statistics for biomedical research to graduate students at the Texas A&M University Health Science Center.

Dr. Maier received her Ph.D. in psychology from the University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada.

This page last reviewed on June 8, 2015